NTT Indycar Series Rapid Race Recap: Newgarden, O’ward Victorious in Iowa Speedway Doubleheader Weekend

Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden dominates in the Saturday opener while Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward captures the Sunday finale. 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (July 25, 2022) – The NTT INDYCAR SERIES will visit Nashville on Aug. 5-7 for the second annual Big Machine Music City Grand Prix around the Nissan Stadium campus. Brief recaps will be provided following each race prior to the NTT INDYCAR SERIES’ arrival in Music City to keep you abreast of the action from North America’s premier open-wheel racing series.

On Saturday and Sunday, the NTT INDYCAR SERIES completed a doubleheader weekend at Iowa Speedway.

RAPID RACE RECAP – Nashville’s Josef Newgarden dominated Saturday’s opener and misfortune in Sunday’s finale cost him an opportunity to sweep the doubleheader at Iowa Speedway.

In Sunday’s race, Newgarden was cruising along again, leading a race-high 148 laps through the first 235 laps when calamity struck. He appeared to have an issue with the car that led to him slamming into the Turn 4 wall and ending his day in 24th.

O’Ward inherited the lead and led the rest of the way of the 300-lap event en route to a 4.2476-second margin of victory over runner-up Will Power of Team Penske. It was O’Ward’s second win of the season. Power was the only driver to reach the podium in both races as he finished third in Saturday’s race.

Power’s Penske teammate Scott McLaughlin rounded out the podium with a third-place finish.

In Saturday’s opener, it was all Newgarden. He dominated the field as he led 208 of the 250 laps and rolled to a 6.1784-second margin of victory over O’Ward. The victory was his series-leading fourth of the season and 24th of his career.

HOW THEY STAND – 1. Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing, 403; 2. Will Power, Team Penske, 395; 3. Josef Newgarden, Team Penske, 369.

HOMETOWN HERO – Nashville’s Josef Newgarden, the two-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion who drives the No. 2 Chevrolet for Team Penske, started second and won Saturday’s opening race. In Sunday’s finale, he started second and finished 24th due to contact. The weekend allowed Newgarden to move from fourth to third in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship standings.

NOTEWORTHY – Newgarden became the all-time INDYCAR victory leader at Iowa Speedway with his win on Saturday. It was his fourth career win at Iowa, breaking a previous tie of three with Ryan Hunter-Reay. … Despite a pair of podium finishes by Team Penske's Will Power, Marcus Ericsson of Chip Ganassi Racing maintained the lead in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship. Ericsson finished eighth Saturday and sixth Sunday to leave with an eight-point lead over Power. … Jimmie Johnson of Chip Ganassi Racing finished a career-best fifth in Sunday’s finale. He finished 11th on Saturday. … Six-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Scott Dixon made his 300th consecutive start in Sunday’s race. The streak began in 2004. Tony Kanaan holds the INDYCAR record with 318 consecutive starts.

UP NEXT – Saturday, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, permanent road course, NBC, 11 a.m. CT.

NASHVILLE COUNTDOWN – One race until the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix: Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course (Saturday, July 30).

About the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix:

The NTT INDYCAR SERIES will visit Nashville Aug. 5-7 for the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix, Round 14 of the 17-race season. The three-day festival of racing and music also will include Indy Lights, GT America, Trans Am, Stadium SUPER Trucks and Vintage Indy. The musical entertainment is highlighted by nightly on-site concerts featuring prominent artists led by Tim McGraw on Saturday, Aug. 6, and Carly Pearce and Brantley Gilbert for the Grand Ole Prix show on Sunday, Aug. 7.  For ticket and event information, please visit