Americana Music Association Announces 2021 Americana Honors & Awards Nominees

Black Pumas, Brandi Carlile, Jason Isbell, The Highwomen, Valerie June, Amythyst Kiah, Our Native Daughters, Margo Price and More Announced as the Americana Music Association’s 2021 Americana Honors & Awards Nominees

Keb’ Mo’ and Old Crow Medicine Show’s Ketch Secor unveiled this year’s nominations this afternoon during a socially-distanced ceremony at Nashville’s National Museum of African American Music

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (May 26, 2021) — This afternoon, the Americana Music Association announced the nominees for its 20th annual Americana Honors & Awards during a socially-distanced ceremony at Nashville’s National Museum of African American Music (NMAAM). This year’s nominations were revealed by GRAMMY® Award-winner Keb’ Mo’ and Ketch Secor, frontman and fiddler of the Americana Award and GRAMMY®-winning band, Old Crow Medicine Show. The intimate event was streamed live to the Americana Music Association’s Facebook page and also featured acoustic performances from Keb’ Mo’, Ketch Secor with Old Crow Medicine Show, Valerie June and Allison Russell.

A full list of categories and nominees for the Americana Music Association’s 20th annual Americana Honors & Awards is below:

Cuttin' Grass - Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions), Sturgill Simpson, Produced by David Ferguson & Sturgill Simpson
J.T., Steve Earle & The Dukes, Produced by Steve Earle
The Moon And Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers, Valerie June, Produced by Valerie June, Ben Rice & Jack Splash
Reunions, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Produced by Dave Cobb
World On The Ground, Sarah Jarosz, Produced by John Leventhal

Brandi Carlile
Kathleen Edwards
Jason Isbell
Margo Price
Billy Strings

Black Pumas
The Highwomen
Our Native Daughters
The War and Treaty
Gillian Welch and David Rawlings

Charley Crockett
Amythyst Kiah
Joy Oladokun
Allison Russell

Megan Coleman
Robbie Crowell
Ray Jacildo
Philip Towns
Kristin Weber

"Black Myself," Amythyst Kiah, Written by Amythyst Kiah
"Call Me A Fool," Valerie June ft. Carla Thomas, Written by Valerie June
"Dreamsicle," Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Written by Jason Isbell
"I Remember Everything," John Prine, Written by Pat McLaughlin & John Prine
"Long Violent History," Tyler Childers, Written by Tyler Childers

The winners of each category will be announced during the Americana Honors & Awards on Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2021 at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tenn. The celebrated program is the hallmark event of AMERICANAFEST, which returns for its 21st year on Sept. 22-25, 2021.

Every year, the Americana Music Association honors distinguished members of the music community with six member-voted annual awards and Lifetime Achievement Awards including the NMAAM co-presented Legacy of Americana Award, which will all be announced leading up to Americana music’s biggest night.

“We’re delighted to see our incredible membership recognize such an array of talent,” said Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association. “Every one of these musicians is a trailblazer in their own right, and I’m thrilled to see that these nominees and their works have resonated so deeply within our community.”

Described by Emmylou Harris as “the shining star of Nashville and music everywhere,” the Americana Honors & Awards has been broadcast in years past on CMT, Austin City Limits via PBS, AXS TV and via SiriusXM Radio, BBC2, WMOT, WRLT, WSM, Voice of America and NPR Music - with the awards show being the most-streamed music event on for four consecutive years.

For two decades, the prestigious ceremony has celebrated pioneering mainstays and trailblazing newcomers, while featuring unforgettable moments in musical history including Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash's last live performance together, as well as offering show-stopping appearances by k.d. lang, Van Morrison, Mavis Staples, Bob Weir, Buddy Guy, George Strait, Don Henley, the late John Prine with Bonnie Raitt, Gregg Allman, The Avett Brothers, The Lumineers, Mumford & Sons, Alabama Shakes, Solomon Burke, Rosanne Cash, the late Dr. John with Dan Auerbach, Irma Thomas, Levon Helm, Robert Plant and many more.

Ticketing information for the Americana Honors & Awards will be announced on June 10. For more information on the association or to purchase passes to AMERICANAFEST, please visit


About the Americana Music Association:

The Americana Music Association is a professional not-for-profit trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American roots music around the world. The Association produces events throughout the year; including AMERICANAFEST and the critically acclaimed Americana Honors & Awards program. The Americana Music Association receives enormous support from the Tennessee Department of Tourism, Nashville Convention & Visitors Corp, ASCAP, BMI, SESAC.


The 21st annual AMERICANAFEST will take place September 22-25, 2021 in Nashville, Tenn., once again bringing together music industry professionals and fans alike for four days of discovery, insight and connections. Declared a "veritable juggernaut" by American Songwriter, AMERICANAFEST showcases hundreds of artists and bands throughout many notable venues in Nashville, TN. The destination event also features a first-rate industry conference, bringing together the top tier of the music business to discuss current industry topics and issues. Musical festivities are kicked off by the critically acclaimed Americana Honors & Awards, which celebrates luminaries and welcomes the next generation of trailblazers while offering one-of-a-kind performance pairings at Nashville's famed Ryman Auditorium. For more information, please visit

About NMAAM:

The National Museum of African American Music opened Jan. 18, 2021. It is the only museum in the world dedicated solely to preserving African American music traditions and celebrating the central role African Americans have played in shaping American music. Based in Nashville, Tenn., the museum shares the story of the American soundtrack by integrating history and interactive technology to honor the musical heroes of African American music of the past and the present. For more information, please visit