"The 55th Annual CMA Awards" Reveals Early Winners in Two Categories Live on ABC's "Good Morning America"

First-time CMA Awards Winner Kelsea Ballerini and Nine-time CMA Awards Winner Kenny Chesney Take Home Trophies for CMA Musical Event of the Year and  
CMA Music Video of the Year

NASHVILLE—The final countdown is on! With “The 55th Annual CMA Awards” airing in just a few short hours, early winners were revealed this morning in two categories. First-time CMA Awards winner Kelsea Ballerini and nine-time CMA Awards winner, Kenny Chesney take home trophies in two categories for “half of my hometown.” Produced by Ballerini, Ross Copperman and Jimmy Robbins the collaboration wins in both the CMA Musical Event of the Year and CMA Music Video of the Year categories. The video was directed by Patrick Tracy.

The announcement took place live on ABC’s “Good Morning America,” as the show took over Bridgestone Plaza in downtown Nashville where reigning CMA Vocal Group of the Year and nominees in the category again this year, Old Dominion took to the Bridgestone Plaza stage to perform their songs “Hotel Key” and “All I Know About Girls.” Watch the performances HERE and HERE and catch CMA Awards host Luke Bryan giving GMA’s Lara Spencer an exclusive look backstage ahead of Country Music’s Biggest Night™ HERE. CMA New Artist of the Year nominee Jimmie Allen also joined Spencer to chat on the Plaza this morning.

With 20 unforgettable performances from some of the biggest names in music, “The 55th Annual CMA Awards” airs live TONIGHT (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) on ABC. Artists taking the CMA Awards stage include Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood, Jimmie Allen, Gabby Barrett, Dierks Bentley feat. BRELAND and HARDY, Brothers Osborne, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Luke Combs, Dan + Shay, Mickey Guyton feat. Brittney Spencer and Madeline Edwards, Jennifer Hudson, Miranda Lambert, Old Dominion, Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde, Thomas Rhett, Blake Shelton, Chris Stapleton, Keith Urban, Chris Young and Kane Brown, and Zac Brown Band.

Tonight’s CMA Awards presenters include Trace Adkins, Ingrid Andress, Kelsea Ballerini, Deana Carter, Lauren Daigle, Russell Dickerson, Faith Fennidy, Florida Georgia Line, Freddie Freeman, Amy Grant, Dulé Hill, Alan Jackson, Elle King, Lady A, Zachary Levi, Scotty McCreery, Hayley Orrantia, Katy Perry, Lionel Richie, Darius Rucker, Susan Sarandon, Saycon Sengbloh, Kurt Warner, Lainey Wilson, and Trisha Yearwood.

Media can visit CMApress.com to access CMA Awards assets including promo tools, social media assets, rehearsal footage and photos, as well as key art ahead of tonight’s broadcast.

“The 55th Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer, Alan Carter is the Director and David Wild is the Head Writer.

About the CMA Awards

The first “CMA Awards Banquet and Show” was held in 1967. The following year, the CMA Awards was broadcast for the first time – making it the longest running, annual music awards program on network television. The CMA Awards have aired on ABC since 2006. ABC is the network home of the CMA Awards and CMA’s other two television properties, “CMA Fest” and “CMA Country Christmas.”

All balloting is tabulated by the professional services organization, Deloitte. 

As used in this document, “Deloitte” means Deloitte & Touche LLP, a subsidiary of Deloitte LLP. Please see http://www.deloitte.com/us/about for a detailed description of Deloitte’s legal structure. Certain services may not be available to attest clients under the rules and regulations of public accounting.