Sponsored By

Bill Anderson

  • Hit songs include "Po'Folks," "Mama Sang A Song," "The Tips Of My Fingers," "8X10," and "Still"
  • Co-wrote hit songs "Whiskey Lullaby" for Braid Paisley and Alison Krauss, "Give It Away" for George Strait, and "Two Teardrops" for Stever Wariner
  • Member of Grand Ole Opry, Country Music Hall of Fame, and Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame
  • One of the most awarded songwriters in country music, receiving awards from CMA, GMA, ACM, and BMI

Bill Anderson has been voted Songwriter of the Year six times, Male Vocalist of the Year, and half of Duet of the Year twice. He's hosted and starred in the Country Music Television Series of the Year, had his band voted Band of the Year, and in 1975 was voted membership in the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. In 2001, he received the ultimate honor, membership in the Country Music Hall of Fame.

He closed out the 20th century with a pair of No. 1 hits, "Wish You Were Here," by Mark Wills and the Grammy-nominated "Two Teardrops" by Steve Wariner. His song, "Too Country," recorded by Brad Paisley won CMA Vocal Event of the Year honors in 2001. The following year, Kenny Chesney soared with his version of the Anderson-Dean Dillon masterpiece, "A Lot of Things Different."

Anderson won CMA Song of the Year honors for his and Jon Randall's "Whiskey Lullaby," recorded by Brad Paisley and Alison Krauss, a Dove Award from the Gospel Music Association for co-writing the Country/Gospel Recorded Song of the Year, "Jonah, Job, and Moses," and his first ACM Song of the Year Award for "Give It Away," recorded by George Strait. "Give It Away" went on to win the CMA Song of the Year, as well as affording Anderson his fourth Grammy nomination.

In 2002, Broadcast Music, Inc. named Anderson its first country music songwriting Icon, placing him alongside R&B legends Little Richard, Chuck Berry, Bo Diddley, and James Brown as the only recipients of that prestigious award. And, in 2008, the Academy of Country Music honored him with their inaugural Poets Award.


Inducted to the Music City Walk of Fame on May 15, 2011.